After the death of Roger Williamson at Zandvoort in 1973, a fund was set up in his name the following year with the primary aim of educating marshals on fire fighting and rescue techniques.

In 1987, it was reconstituted as the Motor Racing Safety Fund and became a registered UK charity (number 296802) with the wider scope to generally aid improvements in safety standards at motorsport events. In 1999, the name was simplified to the Motorsport Safety Fund to reflect the fact that it tries to help all branches of the sport.

The Fund has no formal link with the Royal Automobile Club's Motor Sports Association - the governing body for the sport in the UK - although it does work very closely with the Association.


The Fund is run entirely by volunteers, who neither receive fees nor claim expenses, and the work it is able to do is governed by the amount of money it is able to raise. Donations from motor clubs and individuals form a significant part of the Fund's income. Please contact the Fund if you are able to help.

 The Trustees are very grateful to:

Motor Sports Association The Motor Sports Association for their continued donations
BRSCC  The BRSCC for their support with secretarial help
  Jakob Ebrey Motorsport Photography for the images used on this site



Allan Dean-Lewis (MBE)
Bob Rae
Colin Hilton
Derek Bell (MBE)
Dominic Ostrowski
Dr Ian Roberts (Chairman)
Neil Burgess
Stuart Turner